People

Academic staff

Dr Huili Chen
Lecturer in Water Engineering

Huili is interested in flood risk assessment and application of hydrodynamic flood models and remote sensing data to support flood impact analysis at national or regional scales.

Email: H.Chen2@lboro.ac.uk

Professor Qiuhua Liang
Leader of HEMLab/Chair in Water Engineering

Prof Liang has research expertise in computational hydraulics. He develops high-performance numerical models to predict different natural hazards, e.g. floods, tsunamis, debris flows and landslides, and assess their impact and risk.

Email: Q.Liang@lboro.ac.uk

Dr Gang Wang
Associate Professor in Coastal Engineering (Hohai University, China)

Prof Wang’s research focuses on analyzing ocean wave transformation and harbour resonance and developing non-hydrostatic models for coastal and ocean disasters.

Email: gangwang@hhu.edu.cn

Dr Xilin Xia
Lecturer in Water Engineering

Dr Xia has research expertise in developing physically based models for understanding hydraulic, hydrological, and geomorphological processes in catchments.

Email: x.xia2@lboro.ac.uk

Research fellows

Dr. Syed Kabir
Research Associate

Dr. Kabir is an RA in Risk-based flood forecasting. He is interested in AI and its application in predicting hydrological hazards. He is currently developing rapid flood modelling system using deep learning algorithms.

Email: S.R.Kabir@lboro.ac.uk

Dr Xiaodong Ming
Research Associate

Dr Ming’s research focuses on hydrodynamic modelling and multi-hazard risk analysis. He developed a multi-hazard risk assessment framework for compound floods and a real-time flood forecasting system based on a high-performance hydrodynamic model.

Email: xiaodong.ming@ncl.ac.uk

Dr Yan Xiong
Research Associate

Dr Yan Xiong is a research fellow in Hohai University (China). Her research is focused on the development of high-resolution models to predict the dynamics of floating debris under extreme hydraulic conditions and assess building damage.

Email: xiongyan@hhu.edu.cn

Dr Jiaheng Zhao
Research Associate

Dr Zhao is an RA in multi-scale flood modelling and assessment. He is interested in high-performance hydrodynamic modelling and its application in predicting flood dynamics, sediment transport and the related geomorphic change.

Email: j.zhao@lboro.ac.uk

PhDs

Miss Kaicui Chen
PhD Candidate

Kaicui’s research focuses on the construction of Digital Twin for urban flooding and applications of Artificial Intelligence in flood modelling.

Email: k.chen@lboro.ac.uk

Ms Yunsong Cui
PhD Candidate

Yunsong is a PhD student in Hohai University (China). She is interested in developing high-resolution 2D models to simulate flooding and hydraulic structures.

Email: yunsong_cui@hhu.edu.cn

Miss Kristine Thorkildsen Jarsve
PhD Candidate

Kristine works on landscape evolution modelling in the Bailong River Area in Gansu, China. Her research interests include mass movements in rock, soil, and snow.

Email: k.t.jarsve@lboro.ac.uk

Miss Jinghua Jiang
PhD Candidate

Jinghua’s research interests include modelling the runoff water quality in urban areas, and simulation and assessment of low impact development (LID) practices.

Email: j.jiang3@lboro.ac.uk

Miss Qian Li
PhD Candidate

Miss Li’s research focuses on developing a comprehensive modelling system for large-scale urban flood simulations, including flooding into underground spaces and drainage systems.

Email: Q.Li@lboro.ac.uk

Mr Haoyang Qin
PhD Candidate

Haoyang’s research concerns human behaviours during hazardous events. He develops simulation tools to predict individual and organisational behaviours using agent-based modelling (ABM) and AI technologies.

Email: h.qin@lboro.ac.uk

Mr Wei Shen
PhD candidate

Wei works on developing numerical models for simulating mass movements, such as debris flows and landslides and the relevant phenomena. His current project is about particle segregation of debris flows.

Email: w.shen2@lboro.ac.uk / wei.shen2@unibo.it

Miss Xiaoli Su
PhD Candidate

Miss Su’s research mainly focuses on whole-system modelling of rainfall-induced hazard chains, such as flash floods, landslides and debris flows.

Email: X.SU@lboro.ac.uk

Miss Xue Tong
PhD Candidate

Miss Tong is a PhD candidate at Hohai University (China). She works on the modelling and mechanism analysis of catchment-scale dynamic process of non-point source pollutants.

Email: xue.tong_hhu@hotmail.com

Visiting scholars

Dr Ling Jiang
Associate Professor in Chuzhou University, China
Visiting time: May 2018 – May 2020

Dr Jiang has research expertise in geographical information science. He is interested in terrain modelling and digital terrain analysis supported by high-performance computing, and application of GIS and hydrodynamic modelling technologies for urban flood simulation.

Email: jiangling_xs@163.com / ling.jiang@chzu.edu.cn

Dr Zhenlei Wei
Visiting time: April 2019 – December 2020

Dr Wei is interested in understanding rainfall thresholds for runoff-generated debris flow and developing mitigation methods for debris flows and landslides.

Email: cvwz@lboro.ac.uk

Dr Weihua Zhao
Associate Professor in Chengdu University of Technology, China
Visiting time: December 2019 – December 2020

Dr. Zhao has strong research expertise in engineering geology, mainly engaged in research related to the evaluation of high slope stability, the formation mechanism of geological hazards and monitoring and early warning.

Email: zhaoweihua15@cdut.edu.cn